<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <rss
version="2.0"
xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
> <channel><title>peteconnolly.co.uk &#187; scams</title> <atom:link href="http://www.peteconnolly.co.uk/blog/wordpress/category/scams/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" /><link>http://www.peteconnolly.co.uk/blog/wordpress</link> <description>Pete&#039;s Pictures</description> <lastBuildDate>Sun, 11 Dec 2011 11:08:40 +0000</lastBuildDate> <language>en</language> <sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod> <sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency> <generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=</generator> <item><title>Domain Renewal Group &#8211; scammy smelling snailmail</title><link>http://www.peteconnolly.co.uk/blog/wordpress/2009/11/28/domain-renewal-group-scammy-smelling-snailmail/</link> <comments>http://www.peteconnolly.co.uk/blog/wordpress/2009/11/28/domain-renewal-group-scammy-smelling-snailmail/#comments</comments> <pubDate>Sat, 28 Nov 2009 12:53:07 +0000</pubDate> <dc:creator>pete</dc:creator> <category><![CDATA[scams]]></category> <category><![CDATA[Work]]></category> <category><![CDATA[WTF?]]></category> <category><![CDATA[domain renewal group]]></category> <category><![CDATA[scam]]></category> <category><![CDATA[trading standards]]></category> <guid
isPermaLink="false">http://www.peteconnolly.co.uk/blog/wordpress/?p=374</guid> <description><![CDATA[Another day, another letter from &#8220;Domain Renewal Group&#8221; sent to our house, warning that one of my domain names (my main work one) will expire on April 10th 2010.   Apart from the fact that it&#8217;s a wee bit early to renew (I&#8217;d prefer to keep my cash in the bank as long as possible, TYVM), [...]]]></description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Another day, another letter from &#8220;Domain Renewal Group&#8221; sent to our house, warning that one of my domain names (my main work one) will expire on <strong>April 10th 2010</strong>.   Apart from the fact that it&#8217;s a wee bit early to renew (I&#8217;d prefer to keep my cash in the bank as long as possible, TYVM), they charge an outrageous £20 for a single year.  One &amp; One charge me £8.99, so we&#8217;re looking at a 122% increase, yet they don&#8217;t host the web site or email, they just redirect these to ones I supply myself.</p><p>A pretty poor offer, yet their modus operandi seems to be:</p><ul><li>Do a whois lookup for the billing contact for a domain that will expire in the next N months (N seems to be getting larger)</li><li>Send a letter on good quality paper to this address, vague enough to confuse a non-technical person.</li><li>Take their ridiculous cut for not doing very much.</li><li>Profit!</li></ul><p>There&#8217;s more information over <a
href="http://www.domainscams.co.uk/domain-name-scammer_42_Domain-Renewal-Group.php" target="_blank">here</a> about their dodgy practices. People are even implying that they won&#8217;t provide the basic service they claim, but I can&#8217;t comment on that since <strong>I&#8217;ll never use their service.</strong></p><p>Parasites.</p> ]]></content:encoded> <wfw:commentRss>http://www.peteconnolly.co.uk/blog/wordpress/2009/11/28/domain-renewal-group-scammy-smelling-snailmail/feed/</wfw:commentRss> <slash:comments>2</slash:comments> </item> </channel> </rss>
